Explore the DG World:

11.04.2021 20:00 (CEST)

Stream has expired

Daniil Trifonov & Andris Nelsons present Barber, Schumann and Mozart

World-renowned conductor and GewandhauskapellmeisterAndris Nelsons conducts a concert dedicated to the victims of the coronavirus pandemic. Nelsons and his Leipzig forces open with Barber’s sorrowful and reflective Adagio for Strings, adapted from the second movement of the composer’s String Quartet. Star pianist Daniil Trifonov then joins the musicians to perform the grandest and perhaps most virtuosic of Mozart’s piano concertos, No.25 in C major. The work explores a range of contrasting moods before reaching its triumphant conclusion. We end with Schumann’s “Spring Symphony”, which opens with a joyful fanfare. Whether the symphony is interpreted as a portrait of the season or as the product of a creative spring for its composer, its music is full of hope and the promise of renewal.

Samuel Barber
Adagio for Strings, op.11
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Piano Concerto No.25 in C major, K503
Robert Schumann
Symphony No.1 in B flat major, op.38 “Spring Symphony”

Daniil Trifonov piano
Andris Nelsons conductor
Gewandhausorchester Leipzig

DG Stage