Explore the DG World:

05.02.2021 20:00 (CET)

Stream has expired

Lisa Batiashvili & Zubin Mehta perform Weber, Liszt and Beethoven

First on the programme of this concert from Munich’s Gasteig is the overture to Weber’s final opera, Oberon,which begins with the elven king’s three-note horn-call, a motif heard throughout the work, and goes on to conjure the atmosphere of his magical realm. Next, another work with a pervasive three-note motif, Les Préludes – Liszt’s third and best-known symphonic poem (a genre he more or less invented). His programmatic inspiration in this case was an ode by the French poet Lamartine. Finally, the musicians are joined on stage by soloist Lisa Batiashvili for Beethoven’s Violin Concerto, a revolutionary work from its opening unaccompanied notes on the timpani to the integration of the solo passages into its broader musical architecture.

Carl Maria von Weber
Oberon: Overture
Franz Liszt
Les Préludes – Symphonic Poem No.3
Ludwig van Beethoven
Violin Concerto in D major, op.61

Lisa Batiashvili violin
Münchner Philharmoniker
Zubin Mehta