Explore the DG World:

14.01.2022 20:00 (CET)

Stream has expired

Martha Argerich & Daniel Barenboim: Piano Duos

In 2014, childhood friends Martha Argerich and Daniel Barenboim found time in their busy schedules to give this much-anticipated concert together at the Berlin Philharmonie as part of the Berlin Festtage.  Although the pair had only given a four-handed recital in public once before, in the 1980s, the mutual understanding between these two dedicated chamber musicians shines through their performance. They open with a bright, effervescent interpretation of Mozart’s Sonata for Two Pianos of 1781. Next comes Schubert’s Variations on an Original Theme (1824), of which the two pianists give a reading full of energy, mirroring each other’s emotional responses as the music builds in intensity. For their finale, Argerich and Barenboim present Stravinsky’s own four-hand version of Le Sacre du printemps, which the composer himself performed privately with Debussy before the premiere of the ballet in 1913, and to which they bring a prodigious variety of colour and dynamics. These three breathtaking performances are being shown as part of the celebrations surrounding Barenboim’s 80th-birthday year.

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Sonata for Two Pianos in D major, K 448
Franz Schubert
Variations on an Original Theme in A flat major, D 813
Igor Stravinsky
Le Sacre du printemps (The Rite of Spring)
Version for piano four hands

Martha Argerich, piano
Daniel Barenboim, piano

Philharmonie, Berlin
©EuroArts 2014

DG Stage