Explore the DG World:

23.04.2021 20:00 (CEST)

Stream has expired

Musical Moments: Magdalena Hoffmann – Night & Dance

Virtuoso harpist Magdalena Hoffmann, newly signed to Deutsche Grammophon, presents a varied programme of original works and transcriptions from Berlin’s Meistersaal. She begins with Respighi’s atmospheric Notturno before presenting one of the central works of the harp repertoire, Britten’s five-movement Suite, written for the legendary Welsh harpist Osian Ellis, who died earlier this year. After two more nocturnes, this time by John Field, the composer credited with originating the genre, she performs a contrasting pair of waltzes by Chopin. Magdalena then plays Damase’s transcription of Offenbach’s famous Barcarolle before switching from opera to jazz and ending with Bernard Andrès’s tribute to Duke Ellington.

Ottorino Respighi
Benjamin Britten
Suite for Harp, op. 83
John Field
Nocturne No.5 in B flat major
Nocturne No.12 in G major
Frédéric Chopin
Valse in E minor, op. posth. B56 (transp. to E flat minor)
Valse in A minor, op. posth. B150 (transp. to A flat minor)
Jean-Michel Damase
Barcarolle (from Fantaisie pour harpe sur des motifs des “Contes d’Hoffmann”)
Bernard Andrès

DG Stage