Explore the DG World:

15.01.2021 20:00 (CET)

Stream has expired

Musical Moments: Mao Fujita – solo piano recital

Winner of the silver medal at the 2019 Tchaikovsky Piano Competition, Japanese pianist Mao Fujita gives a recital in Berlin as part of DG’s “Musical Moments” series. After opening with Mozart’s virtuosic Sonata No.3, he performs Tchaikovsky’s Romance and Dumka, both of which contrast meditative or melancholy passages with livelier, dance-like moments, before tackling Alkan’s hugely demanding Le Festin d’Ésope, 25 variations on an original theme. He ends with two pieces by Ravel: the lyrical Pavane pour une infante défunte and the composer’s own transcription of his orchestral work La Valse, written in the aftermath of World War One.

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Piano Sonata No.3 in B flat major, K281/189f
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky
Romance, op.5
Dumka, op.59
Charles-Valentin Alkan
12 Études, op.39: No.12 Le Festin d’Ésope
Maurice Ravel
Pavane pour une infante défunte
La Valse