Explore the DG World:

10.12.2021 20:00 (CET)

Stream has expired

Yannick Nézet-Séguin and The Philadelphia Orchestra present works by Florence Price and Amanda Harberg

The Philadelphia Orchestra and its Music Director Yannick Nézet-Séguin present a celebration of music by two American female composers. They begin with the world premiere of Amanda Harberg’s Piccolo Concerto, featuring soloist Erica Peel, the orchestra’s piccoloist. It was Peel who commissioned Harberg to expand her Sonata for Piccolo and Piano (2018) into a full-scale concerto. The orchestration is for just strings, percussion, harp and timpani, because much of the solo writing is for the softer middle register of the piccolo, which the composer calls “a beautiful range of the instrument”. The second work on the programme is the Third Symphony of Florence Price (1887-1953), the first African-American woman to have a work performed by a major American orchestra. Full of shifting moods, the symphony shows increasing experimentalism and incorporates melodic and rhythmic elements of spirituals and the juba, an African-derived folk dance. Price’s music fell into neglect for decades but is currently enjoying a much-deserved revival. Yannick Nézet-Séguin and The Philadelphia Orchestra are among its champions – their recordings of her Symphonies Nos. 1 and 3, released digitally in September 2021, have now been recognised with a Grammy nomination.

Amanda Harberg
Piccolo Concerto (world premiere)
Florence Price
Symphony No. 3 in C minor

Erica Peel piccolo
Yannick Nézet-Séguin conductor
The Philadelphia Orchestra

Photos: © Jeff Fusco

DG Stage