Explore the DG World:

Carnegie Hall’s Opening Night Gala Concert 2021

In cooperation with Carnegie Hall, we’re proud to present the Opening Night concert featuring superstar pianist Yuja Wang and the Philadelphia Orchestra conducted by Yannick Nézet-Séguin. The gala includes Shostakovich’s rousing Piano Concerto No. 2 and Beethoven’s iconic Symphony No. 5. Beethoven’s love of nature-inspired Iman Habibi’s Jeder Baum spricht, a powerful reflection on climate change, while Valerie Coleman’s Seven O’Clock Shout honors frontline workers and the human spirit’s resilience in the time of the pandemic. The evening is completed by the ever-popular Overture to Bernstein’s Candide. Carnegie Hall has been closed to the public since March 13, 2020 due to COVID-19, the longest closure period in the Hall’s 130-year history.

Valerie Coleman
Seven O’Clock Shout
Dmitri Shostakovich
Piano Concerto No. 2
I. Allegro
II. Andante
III. Allegro
Leonard Bernstein
Iman Habibi
Jeder Baum spricht
Ludwig van Beethoven
Symphony No. 5
I. Allegro con brio
II. Andante con moto
III. Scherzo. Allegro – Trio
IV. Allegro

Yuja Wang, Piano
Philadelphia Orchestra
Yannick Nézet-Séguin
, Conductor

photographer: ©2021 Chris Lee